plate amp dead?

General discussion for all questions based in the home audio/video world.
yappari

plate amp dead?

Postby yappari » Sun Jul 09, 2006 6:49 pm

hey guys, i have a polk plate amp, PSW200, i got it off ebay from someone who said it was referbished. when i got it, it said 'bias modified' on it. worked fine for 5months, but yesterday it did something weird..

i forgot it on for a few hours w/o a signal, and then i found it playing a signal tone, and a strange smell coming from it. i tried unplugging the audio cables from it and it didn't stop. i opened it up and it looks like nothing was fried and everything is in one piece. i'm not sure if its still repairable or not, i have some knowledge with electronics, soldering, ect, but not enough to figure otu the problem.

if anyone can give me some tips or input, that would be great
----------------------------------
US Amps 200
->Ascendant Avalanche 15"
->4.8cuft box tuned to 36hz
US Amps 150
->CDT CL-61
Pioneer 6700mp
-> MTX RTX03A
->AudioControl EQL
westend

Postby westend » Sun Jul 09, 2006 9:00 pm

Can you take a picture of the different parts of the amp?
Pioneer 860, Soundstream 600-4, Directed 1100d, CDT IEK, CDT EF61CF, 2-IDQ-10's NoGOT-No gas on Thurs.

eezip

Postby eezip » Tue Jul 11, 2006 10:38 pm

Bias is the continuous current running through a circuit when no signal is being reproduced - it's the static or quiescent current. Adding bias to a class B amp makes it class AB, and adding even more bias will make it class A. Because bias is directly related to losses and heating, a misadjusted bias can lead to overheating and poor audio performance if there's too much bias or poor audio performance if there's too much bias. It's a good guess the bias was either adjusted or some circuit change was made when the amp was refurbished which is normal - whenever an amp is serviced bias should always be checked and adjusted if necessary.