audio *noise*?

General discussion for all questions based in the home audio/video world.
User avatar
unrealjet
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:22 am
Location: N.C

audio *noise*?

Postby unrealjet » Sat Aug 05, 2006 10:15 pm

hey guys, jus picked up the pioneer vsx1015 receiver and a new dvd player, threw my speakers on the regular speaker connectors and put my sub on the presub out. sounded amazing then i hooked my tv and dvd palyer up to it. Started getting a hum out of the sub and speakers. unplugged the tv audio and video rcas from the receiver and it stopped. not sure what i should do kinda new to this. any tips?
User avatar
westend
New Member
Posts: 1359
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 2:30 am

Postby westend » Sun Aug 06, 2006 2:46 am

Probably dissimilar ground potentials between the TV and the receiver or bad cables. Try grounding the TV frame to the receiver frame. Make sure both units have a good ground to your house mains.
Pioneer 860, Soundstream 600-4, Directed 1100d, CDT IEK, CDT EF61CF, 2-IDQ-10's NoGOT-No gas on Thurs.




User avatar
eezip
New Member
Posts: 1009
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2001 12:43 am
Location: Orange County, CA
Contact:

Postby eezip » Sun Aug 06, 2006 11:20 am

Yup, classic ground loop. See if the equipment has 3-prong plugs. If not, use a 3- to 2-prong adapter to lift the ground of the 3-prong equipment. Solidly connecting equipment chassis can also help out. It might help to find out which cables cause teh hum - audio or video.
HT: Sony KV-27FS13 | Oppo DV-981HD | Denon AVR-2807 | 7x Cambridge MC100 | Acoustic Research ARPR1010 || Stereo: Dynaudio Audience 42 | Hales Concept 3 prototypes | wouldn't you like to know... :)

Home PC: Yamaha RP-U100 | B&W LM-1 | Mpyre 65x || Work PC: Yamaha RP-U100 | QSC AD-S32T | Sony MDR-V600
User avatar
unrealjet
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:22 am
Location: N.C

Postby unrealjet » Sun Aug 06, 2006 11:45 am

my sub amp has a 3 prong, but my tv receiver and dvd palyer do not, i just get those adapters and put them on all my plugs? then if that doesnt work wire a ground from my tv to my receiveR?
User avatar
eezip
New Member
Posts: 1009
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2001 12:43 am
Location: Orange County, CA
Contact:

Postby eezip » Sun Aug 06, 2006 11:42 pm

Let me check what you're saying: The problem happens when the TV is connected to the reciever? The reciever, sub, and DVD player are all fine together? If so, since you say the TV doesn't have a 3-prong plug, lifting the sub ground probably won't do anything. If you have a spare adapter it wouldn't hurt to try.

You can try connecting the chassis together. You can try just touching a wire from metal to metal to see if it works before you take out any screws or get out a soldering iron. Also, like westend said, make sure the tip and sleeve have solid continuity on all the cables.

Another thing to try is connecting to different outlets. Try putting all the gear on a single outlet [using a surge protector] and if they're there already, try moving some of the gear to a different circuit.

You might also try better grammer. It's harder to read your post without commas and periods in the right places ;)
HT: Sony KV-27FS13 | Oppo DV-981HD | Denon AVR-2807 | 7x Cambridge MC100 | Acoustic Research ARPR1010 || Stereo: Dynaudio Audience 42 | Hales Concept 3 prototypes | wouldn't you like to know... :)



Home PC: Yamaha RP-U100 | B&W LM-1 | Mpyre 65x || Work PC: Yamaha RP-U100 | QSC AD-S32T | Sony MDR-V600
User avatar
unrealjet
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:22 am
Location: N.C

Postby unrealjet » Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:19 pm

Ahaha yea sorry about the grammer, but they are all on a home theatre surge protector right now. Ill try moving them to a different outlet in the wall but i dont think i can m move them onto a different breaker.
User avatar
unrealjet
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:22 am
Location: N.C

Postby unrealjet » Mon Aug 07, 2006 4:34 pm

Okay, im playing around with the grounds and stuff but i havnt founda good place to put the grounding wire on my tv. while doing this i did notice if i unplug the sub WHILE the tv rcas are in the receiver then the hum goes away. so its either the sub or the tv, as the sub is the only thing with a grounding pin on the power connector.
User avatar
westend
New Member
Posts: 1359
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 2:30 am

Postby westend » Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:55 pm

Does that subwoofer have it's own plate amplifier in the enclosure?
Pioneer 860, Soundstream 600-4, Directed 1100d, CDT IEK, CDT EF61CF, 2-IDQ-10's NoGOT-No gas on Thurs.




User avatar
John
Posts: 8992
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 1:00 pm
Contact:

Postby John » Thu Aug 10, 2006 1:26 pm

^That's an idea, but he said it came from the sub and speakers...and the sub was on the presub out.

Does the sound change with volume of the reciever or the volume of the tv?
User avatar
unrealjet
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:22 am
Location: N.C

Postby unrealjet » Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:18 pm

The sub does have its own 1kw plate amp in the sub box, il check to see if the hum increases with volume, but if i hook any single rca from the tv to thereceiver video ro audio the hum comes up,. Im going to play with it some more

Return to “Home Audio/Video”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest