I have heat in my truck again!

Come here to discuss the performance side of our vehicles.
black00

I have heat in my truck again!

Postby black00 » Thu Nov 17, 2005 9:43 am

Ok...this has been going on for over a year....maybe 2 years i'd say...
No heat in the truck.....but for the longest time i lived like 3 or 4 miles from my work so i always chaulked it up as not long enough to warm up...
NOW...........it was cold...i live 25 minutes from work and still breathing frost all the way there...not cool....
So i was despirate...last year...or so ...i changed from 160degree to 180degree thermo thinking the coolant wasn't getting hot enough.......

No i'was getting suggestions that the flaps were not opening up at my heater venting....

And of the course the moronic "YOUR HEATER CORE HAS GONE OUT".......ok.....i'm not a mechanic.......but ....but the heater core doesnt use power.........all it does it let air blow over it onto your ***.......it doesn't GO OUT.....its either leaking ....or not leaking.... so i wasn't about to take my whole dash out and replace it for no good reason......

But i was....grasping at straws cause i thought maybe a vac line was undone or my hot to cold pot was gone bad.....
I was ready to put a 210 thermo in just to see if it helped...

Then i asked on s10forum.com (you know me i don't spam other forums...i'm just tellin you where i got my help from) anyway...dude said to take the hoses off at the fire wall in the engine compartment and run a hose into it and try to flush it out cause it might be clogged........... :) ...he was right........