My new project... "WTH was I thinking?"

Come here to discuss the performance side of our vehicles.
nismo

My new project... "WTH was I thinking?"

Postby nismo » Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:20 am

Last Friday, I picked up a Tornado Red 1991 Audi Coupe Quattro just southeast of Pittsburg, PA. It is a 2.3 liter inline 5 cylinder with 4 valves/cylinder. These cars were only made from 1990 to 1991, and a total of about 1730 of them were imported during those years. They are a bit of a rarity, as the one I own is the only one I've actually been around. This car ONLY came with a stick, and has about 170 hp @ 3300 lbs. It's not a speed record holder, but it feels fast.

I have limited experience with automotive repair, so this is definitely going to be a learning experience. Audi's are one of the most durable vehicles around, but from a reliability standpoint, they suck. The mechanicals don't break, even when throwing 3-5x the stock hp through the AWD tranny. The problems with them are nearly always electrical or vacuum-based. As a side note, a clutch job is booked as 7.5 hours of labor :).

I'm about to start my journey into maintaining and modifying my car.

From what I've seen so far, my car needs the following:
-Rust fixed
-Underbody coating removed and replaced (considering Line-X spray on bedliner)
-Tranny bushings
-Diff Bushings
-Control Arm bushings
-New shifter (gonna be Billzcat)
-Brake lines (mine are rusted to hell)
-MC/SC removal and replacement

Things I want to do:
-Torsen rear diff (purchased)
-PT code 3.6 V8 swap (purchased)
-Audio system - will be documented completely
-S2 front/rear bumper (European OEM)
-RS2 headlights (European OEM)
-B4 hood (Next generation US OEM)
-S2 hubs (European OEM)
-Big brakes (hopefully Porsche Big Reds)
-RS4 18" wheels