A couple questions with my system.

General car audio discussion area.
User avatar
KU40
Posts: 6461
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 12:02 pm
Location: Lawrence, KS
Contact:

Postby KU40 » Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:40 pm

I linked you to an MA Audio, Autotek, and....what was the other one? I've put an MA Audio into my friend's car and it works fine.
-Nick aka NS1 aka mopey aka speedbump
Alpine CDA-9827
Crossfire CFQ5.2
JL Audio XR 650csi components, Planet Audio TT2300
Crossfire VR404 on factory rear 6x8's until I get them upgraded
SI 15D2 + 3.8 @ 30 hz + Crossfire BMF 1000D = :)
User avatar
95Honda
Posts: 1691
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 1:00 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby 95Honda » Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:05 pm

Best deal will be weldingdepot.com or weldingsupply.com, best quality also. Partsexpress used to be the best deal for 2 gauge until about 2 years ago when they switched vendors and doubled the price, it was $1 a foot back in the day when you bought like 30 or 40 feet...
http://www.forceaudio.com

Marshall asked me how much it would be to fly to Idaho....
User avatar
mohsye
New Member
Posts: 691
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 11:00 am
Location: Kensal, ND
Contact:

Postby mohsye » Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:19 pm

X-OvrDistortion wrote:Dude, go to MN and grab the 1/0 out of my garage.


Serious?! How many feet?

And also. If I would get 2 orions, would it cause any problems with a little different power going to each driver because they are in the same air space? The only thing is if i'm running a single amp to each, i'm looking at a 4 ohm load also.


About strapping the orions, maybe i read it wrong but...
http://www.ikesound.com/product-product_id/2286

"" Allows external bridging of two matched gain amplifiers""

Is that strapping?


KU... there was...

http://www.ikesound.com/product-product_id/6119

http://www.ikesound.com/product-product_id/6045

I remember those two. But like I say, i'm out of the loop on what's good and isn't anymore. I'm still pumping a pioneer prs x320 i bought a few years back used off ebay... and it still puts out good power. Love that series from back in the day.

I know power is power, but i'm also somewhat of a SQ guy so I'm basically asking one of you guys to show me an amp and tell me that's what I should get. I want it to last for as long as i'll use it and have good quality.

I glued the last board and clamped it on an hour ago and getting anxious to hear this setup :)

Another question... sorry. Just use a jigsaw to cut out the speaker cutouts? And what diameter exactly should I make the cutouts on my front panel?

Thanks so very much again guys.

and X-over... you're never on aim or msn or maybe i'm the one that's not anymore. but we gotta talk about that wire soon. maybe give me a phone call if you would? just pm for info or what not. Thanks again.
User avatar
95Honda
Posts: 1691
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 1:00 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby 95Honda » Sun Jul 13, 2008 2:34 am

I read that also, I think the Orions are strappable. Thing is, I never remember seeing any type of sync/master-slave/strapping ports... I could have seen one and just though it was a bass knob connection though.... It is soooo much better for the amps, subs and everything else not to run at minimum impednace anyway... Stuff last longer, it sounds better and is more efficient.... I almost laugh sometimes when I see people runiing stuff below an ohm, it seriously isn't worth it to me for that last db or so...

For the holes, see if someone has a router you can borrow. You make a circle jig for any router out of a piece of steel rod bent 90 degrees at one end, using something like this is way, way better than using a jigsaw.... Or if someone has a circle jig, better yet!

For the cutouts, just test cut a few scrap pieces untill you get the router dialed in perfect, this will also give you a chance to practice using a router before you cut your box up. I still double check on a scrap piece by cutting a test hole and I have built way over 200 boxes....

I seriously doubt you will ever be able to hear a difference in Class D amps for subs. I think just about anyone who claims otherwise is being fooled by the install or they relate the amp running out of power and clipping to SQ. You will be fine with any of the main stream class Ds. The SQ will come from how good you do everything...
http://www.forceaudio.com



Marshall asked me how much it would be to fly to Idaho....
User avatar
mohsye
New Member
Posts: 691
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 11:00 am
Location: Kensal, ND
Contact:

Postby mohsye » Sun Jul 13, 2008 1:27 pm

Ok, question on the quality of this amp. (Sorry for having so many, just not the type to rush into things)

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8699367&type=product&id=1199494646259

How would you rate this amp? My buddy who works at best buy can get me it for $220. Does that sound like a pretty good grab?
User avatar
95Honda
Posts: 1691
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 1:00 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby 95Honda » Sun Jul 13, 2008 1:54 pm

Looks like a good deal....
http://www.forceaudio.com



Marshall asked me how much it would be to fly to Idaho....
User avatar
mohsye
New Member
Posts: 691
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 11:00 am
Location: Kensal, ND
Contact:

Postby mohsye » Sun Jul 13, 2008 11:25 pm

Are alpine amps pretty solid?
User avatar
mohsye
New Member
Posts: 691
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 11:00 am
Location: Kensal, ND
Contact:

Postby mohsye » Sun Sep 07, 2008 6:06 pm

Bad bad news.

MY box won't fit in my new car I bought. :(

So I'm building a little small, but sealed box.

:(

Return to “Car Audio”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest